Refurbishment of Termonfechin Church

Archaeological-Services-Church

 

The Church of the Immaculate Conception, Termonfeckin has recently been refurbished by the Parish of Termonfechin under the guidance of Fr Aidan Murphy PP. The project involved a multidisciplinary team under the direction of Doherty Finegan Kelly Consulting Engineers. Archaeological Consultancy Services Unit were engaged as archaeological consultants on the project. The church itself was constructed in 1883 at a cost of £5,000 by the Rev. Fr John Segrave PP. The refurbishment project involved significant internal and external work including new lighting and rewiring, new flooring, replastering, modifications to the altar table and ambo, complete redecoration and external lighting and landscaping. The work took two months to complete during which time the church was closed. The nature of the work provided a rare opportunity to glimpse the methods of construction and the early layout and internal decoration of the church. As part of the work research was undertaken into the history of the site's selection and the construction. This work has provided some fascinating insights into the people who were involved and were responsible for the construction of this beautiful building which has served the parish for over 130 years. A summary of this research can be found at the link below.

Church of the Immaculate Conception, Termonfeckin